Keyboardist trying to play an organ :(

Reaction score
.... so apparently i suck on an organ.

I am pretty proficient on a piano and know how to use most patches in a way that doesn't make peoples ears bleed..... however i just have no idea what I am doing when it comes to playing organ. Can anyone help me with this? give me some hint? anything that will make it click with me?

If it matters I started off as a guitar/bass player and I am pretty good at both of those but now i just have a passion for keys. (I can also play violin, ukulele and a bit of banjo .............. and melodica if that counts)

Any advice at all would be helpful.

Thanks

Reaction score
I've been playing piano and organ for over 30 years.

The technique is different when playing the organ vs the piano. On piano for instance, after you release the key, the note continues to sustain a little bit. Even longer if you're holding down the damper pedal.

The organ doesn't do that. When you release a key, the note goes away immediately. Although on an electronic keyboard, if you use the damper pedal with an organ patch, it will simply continue to 'hold' the notes at same volume until you release the pedal then the sound stops immediately.

You need play with extreme legato technique on the organ....and in many cases, you even need to hold the notes down much longer than you would expect and also use a technique called substitute fingering. Substitute fingering is not necessary on a piano.

Example of substitute fingering: Lets assume your playing a C major chord. You've got your thumb on C, middle (3rd) finger on E and baby (5th) finger on G. Now lets say you need follow that with a different inversion of the C chord where the low note would be E followed by G followed by C(as the high note).