Korg sv 8 or Yamaha CP40 help!

Reaction score
Am I correct from your nickname that you are a complete novice?

If so then it depends upon if you actually want to learn to play piano or keys!

If you want to play piano then Yamaha’s do have great piano sounds.

If you want to play keys then do look at the Roland Juno DS88 which has great piano sounds itself but it will do so much more than simply be a digital piano.

Reaction score
thoughts please
If by "Korg SV8" you mean "Korg SV-1 88", I'm happy to offer my opinion, based on about two years of heavy usage. I won't comment on the Yamaha as I've never touched one.

Overall I love my SV-1.

Pros:
  • Electric pianos sound amazing. Particularly the Wurli emulation - which I can disappear into for hours, I love playing it so much.
  • Very simple to use
  • Controls logically laid out - literally zero menu diving on this beastie
  • I like the action a lot
  • Looks retro cool, not that looks are important to me when it comes to keyboards, but I know that it matters to some.
Cons:
  • Not overly versatile. It does what it does well, but don't be looking for amazing organ and synth sounds. It also has a fairly limited sound palette.
  • Heavy! Not much fun to lug around on tour.
  • The cool-looking retro round shape means you can't stack other things on top of it.
Good luck!

Reaction score
If by "Korg SV8" you mean "Korg SV-1 88", I'm happy to offer my opinion, based on about two years of heavy usage. I won't comment on the Yamaha as I've never touched one.

Overall I love my SV-1.

Pros:
  • Electric pianos sound amazing. Particularly the Wurli emulation - which I can disappear into for hours, I love playing it so much.
  • Very simple to use
  • Looks retro cool, not that looks are important to me when it comes to keyboards, but I know that it matters to some.
Cons: