Yamaha vs Roland vs Korg

Reaction score
Hi all - I'm new to Keyboard Forums. I'm a weekend musician, considering a keyboard purchase in the $1500 range. I'd like 88 weighted keys, good piano and organ sounds, as well as realistic horn and string patches. Ease of portability would be a plus. The Yamaha MOXF08, Korg Krome and Roland FA08 all seem to be in my price range, with used models available on eBay. They're all good brands making quality products. Any preferences? Any other makes / models I should be considering? Thanks in advance.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
They're all good keyboards and any opinions you get regarding the superiority of one over the other will sound like religious arguments.

One thing that to me is a slight edge among the three is that the Krome has a metal housing while the other two are plastic boxes. Also there are multiple reports of premature keybed failure among the MOXF8 crowd.

Then again there's nothing wrong with well designed plastic and if it's gonna stay in a home studio and not be thrown down stairs by roadies then it really doesn't matter.

Two others to look at in that class however are Casio's PX-5S and PX-560.

Right now I own a Kurzweil PC3K8 and I'm seriously considering downgrading to one of the boards you mentioned or one of the Casios. The bloody Kurzweil weighs in at 54 lbs. 80 lbs. with the case. :p

Gary ;)

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score