New to this forum

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am new to this forum. I have been musical my entire life. Basically self taught on guitar and piano ( did take lessons as a child). Mainly play by ear. I have written my own songs as well. 2 years ago, during pandemic, I joined an established (over 15 yrs) popular local rock and roll coverband. We have been doing well and have maintained a good following. Both the band members and fans have been saying that since the addition of our new female vocalist and myself, our sound has improved so much. Now they want to go "Next Level"
I currently use a Roland Juno DS 88 and a Yamaha PSR e433. As a second keyboard. I am looking for advise and direction on next steps for equipment investments. Do I need laptop and midi for live performanses? I would love to hear from the pros out there as I am new to this. I have only ever played for myself and close friends. Thanks in advance. I will look forward to chatting with you in this forum.

Reaction score
I'd like to understand why you think you need to add another keyboard to get to the 'next level'. What is it that the DS doesn't do well that prevents you from getting to the next level? As an example based on the music that you play you may need a killer hammond/leslie sound and maybe the DS may not provide that. Or you want to run a variety of VST's and you need a great midi controller and perhaps the DS is not strong in this area. Not sure because you never provided any requirements of what you're looking from a keyboard to do to get to the next level.

Sometimes its not the strength of the tools as much as it is the strength of the carpenter using the tools.

Last edited:
Reaction score