Sydenham, London - currnetly don't play but want to learn

Reaction score
SE26, Sydenham, London, UK or Crystal Palace
Hi, I have signed up to this forum because I have decided that I want to learn to play the keyboard. At this moment in time I am just trying to decide which one to buy to start off with. I want to play blues and honkytonk style and maybe also compose 'folk' type tunes for my own songs. I would quite like to be able to create my own music on the pc using 'other' instruments via the keyboard but my main aim at this stage is to find a keyboard at a reasonable price for a beginner that has a great piano sound and will prepare me to play a piano whenever I get the opportunity.

I am thinking that for this I want a keyboard with fully hammond weighted keys and probably without all the bells and whistles in order to keep the price down until I have learned to play well. Any advice will be gratefully received.

I am a Driving Instructor in London with two organically run allotments and love music and dancing and many crafts including sewing, embroidery, jewellery making and photography. I also love building web sites and have a passion for medieval history.

I would love to be able to compose medieval inspired tunes so would like a keyboard with the right sound for that too.

Look forward to hearing from other members
Lois Pallister

Reaction score
Ok, I was considering the ProKeys Sono 88 but having read the article by Skipp and a few other messages I have decided to go for the slightly more expensive ProKeys 88.

I don't want to spend too much to begin with and would rather learn to play on a graded hammer-action keyboard. Anyone have any reasons that I should not go for this or want to make any other suggestions? Sorry for the question that probably irritates everyone but I am totally new to all this and could really do with some advice from people with experience.

Reaction score
Lois I advice you to have a good look what Casio has to offer these days.