Symphonic metal composition

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to keyboards but I want something that I can compose symphonic metal, classical, film scores, alternative rock style music such as Evanescence and Nightwish.

I want it to have a quality sounding grand piano, strings, brass, drums, guitar, bass, percussion, organ, special effects, synth...basically I need the true sound of a rock band, orchestra and choir to harmonize as one, epic masterpiece.

Some great examples is music from movies like the Chronicles of Narnia and Lord of the Rings, but with lyrics.

I'm not sure where to start or what model or brands to look at, but I do know my limitations...

-Nothing over $1,400

-Quality replication of classic and acoustic instruments

-Record/compose features

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Reaction score
Dude, you can read my other posts...I don't work for Roland or anything, but I love my Roland boards. The KR-575 that I bought about 11 years ago had everything that you are asking for, and the sounds are still good today. No kidding...awesome quality samples. In all the right areas, too. The synth mod that I was drooling over at that time was the JV 5080 and it was the flagship synth of that time. There is a good review of it by Walter Afanasieff (producer for Santana, Mariah Carey, Kenny G, etc.). You can get a good one on ebay for around 500. Max it out with some SRX series expansion boards. It has 8 slots. wow. powerhouse. Hook it to a good controller (theyre dirt cheap anymore, and really good mostly) and you are rockin dude. i would totally record and gig with that rig, no worries, no complaints.

Hope this helps.

Reaction score