Yamaha Montage 8 Not bootable

Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Hello guys, please I have a Yamaha Montage 8 Keyboard that whenever it’s power on it fluctuates, sometimes the screen flickered and later shut down.

Sometimes we have to power it on & off for about 3times before it get stable and still didn't boot to Menu.

Please what could be the problem and possibly solution(s) to this.

Thank you for your quick responses.
I’m most grateful.


 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
13,885
Reaction score
5,581
Location
GTA, Canada
First of all is the power button a soft rubber button or a proper rocker or pushbutton switch?

Secondly, are you sure you are using the correct adapter plugged into the wall outlet?

Gary ;)
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
13,885
Reaction score
5,581
Location
GTA, Canada
Is it the original power adapter that shipped with the Montage or is it an aftermarket adapter you purchased separately?

Gary ;)
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
13,885
Reaction score
5,581
Location
GTA, Canada
So it's an internal power supply? Then first thing to check is the connector where the cord plugs into the back of the board. Does power cut out if you wiggle the cable?

Gary ;)
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
13,885
Reaction score
5,581
Location
GTA, Canada
BTW, if the power supply is the culprit you're better off purchasing a replacement part and replacing the entire supply.

Modern power supplies are switching supplies with hundreds of volts internally and are not serviceable without specialized equipment.

It should be located on a separate daughter board inside the unit. Just swap the entire board.

And be sure to discharge the electrolytic capacitors before removing it or you could be in for a nasty shock.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
So it's an internal power supply? Then first thing to check is the connector where the cord plugs into the back of the board. Does power cut out if you wiggle the cable?

Gary ;)
Ok... if it didn't cut out what could possibly be the next solution to this?

Because why I'm saying this is... we usually plugged it and press the power on switch like 2 to 3times before it powers on then after it powers on it still doesn't boot to menus.

So wiggling the power cord could it possibly lead to unbootable?

Thanks Gary
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
13,885
Reaction score
5,581
Location
GTA, Canada
But I am inclined to think it's probably a loose connector or a bad solder joint somewhere in the power supply.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
BTW, if the power supply is the culprit you're better off purchasing a replacement part and replacing the entire supply.

Modern power supplies are switching supplies with hundreds of volts internally and are not serviceable without specialized equipment.

It should be located on a separate daughter board inside the unit. Just swap the entire board.

And be sure to discharge the electrolytic capacitors before removing it or you could be in for a nasty shock.

Gary ;)
Ok... that's quite helpful Gary.

Thanks. Would do the checking and get back to you on it.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
14,110
Messages
87,209
Members
13,174
Latest member
sfz5

Latest Threads

Top