Your Thoughts Please

Reaction score
Thought about this post several times but really not sure how it should go.
Or where to post it.
So the beginners forum, because that's pretty much what I am.
I enjoy music.
Especially piano.
Mostly classical some jazz.
Some years ago an accident with a table saw damaged my left hand.
My left hand, thumb, fourth, and pinky fingers are fairly functional.
Presently I'm looking at various reviews for an entry level, 88 key, digital keyboard. My hope is to purchase very shortly.
Since it is my present intention to be self taught I am also looking at beginner books.
While I may at some point seek out a teacher, I feel more comfortable learning on my own to start.
Also, I am very rural and there are no music stores around. Not sure about music teachers.
This is where I really need your help.
Which entry level books should I be looking at to purchase?
Many thanks.
March...

Reaction score
Sorry to read of your problems, however as long as you want to play music you will get plenty of support.

Do post a list of what you are considering buying as they do vary considerably in their capabilities.

Just what you want to achieve is also something that we could do with knowing ie, classical, backing, riffs, jazz or a bit of everything.

If you look in the Techniques and Posture section Gary’s two sticky posts contain a massive amount of info.

Have a look on Amazon at Kenneth Baker‘s books, there are piano specific ones and others that are keyboard specific take a look at the content of them and come back to oet us know what you think prior to comitting.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Firstly I second Biggles' suggestion to check out the tutorial threads posted in Technique and Posture.

Secondly, best way to start is playing or attempting to play songs that you know and love.

If you're into stuff from the 60's and 70's you can find huge collections on Amazon for not too much money.