keyboard upgrade advice please

Reaction score
ok I would like to upgrade my Yamaha psr e333 for Christmas , the three models I been looking at are casio 7200
roland bk-3 and Yamaha psr 443 , I was leaning towards the roland because of hopefully good build quality and the polyphonic number being 120 something and 7.5 watt speakers and some good features even though the most expensive at 360 then my head was turned by the Yamaha 443 arpeggiator feature and looked at a demo and looked pretty useful, so as a recent beginner I was wondering if this feature is useful in the long term or just a fun feature that I wouldn't use much ? my choice now is between the roland and Yamaha after discounting the casio over doubts around build quality

mark

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I haven't ever used the Casio CTK-7200 or Roland BK-3, but I do own a Yamaha PSR-443, so I'll discuss it.

The PSR-E443 would certainly be a good step up from the PSR-E333, because it's similar enough to the PSR-E333 that you should feel comfortable with the upgrade, but it also has some features that the PSR-E333 lacks:
  • PSR-E333 has no User files capability. -- PSR-E443 can save and load User files having 100 different file names. (User files are similar to Backup files, but can be loaded from a USB thumb drive plugged into the back of the keyboard, as opposed to being transferred to/from a computer via the Musicsoft Downloader software.)
  • PSR-E333 has no Registrations. -- PSR-E443 has 32 Registrations. (Registrations let you save your keyboard settings for later recall.)
  • PSR-E333 can "register" only 1 external Style at a time. -- PSR-E443 can "register" 5 external Styles at a time.
  • PSR-E333 can save 5 User Songs at a time. -- PSR-E443 can save 10 User Songs at a time.
  • PSR-E333 doesn't have a Pitch Bend wheel. -- PSR-E443 has a Pitch Bend Wheel.