Piano In 21 Days approach

Reaction score
I found this guy online and purchased his course. It sounds crazy, Piano In 21 Days, but in only two weeks I am playing pop songs I enjoy. His name is Jacques Hopkins. He does not teach classical or notereading. Rather, he teaches chords, progressions, and arpeggios in a way that gets you started playing right away. I do not work for him. You can check out the link below. He also has free videos on You Tube.

www.pianoin21days.com

Reaction score
As a person who took 6 years of piano lessons I am somewhat offended by the phrase that in 21 days this person ( who I've seen on TV) teaches you "the right way". Learning the correct way is teaching someone theory and learning and mastering scale technique and being able to read music in all scales which can't be done in 21 days. No difference not then a self taught guitarist who plays the wrong notes and you tell him that music is a diminished 9th and he is playing a minor chord and he is creating a dissonent tone against the diminished. He looks at you with a blank stare. That's what 21 days of lessons and short cuts get you.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reaction score
Dear Dave,
I took ten years of piano lessons, six years of guitar lessons, I play by ear, and I know quite a bit about music theory. In all those years of lessons, I learned to sight read and was taught a lot of classical music, which was lovely, but wasn't what I was passionate about. In the end, I learned a lot of skills but lost interest and put my keyboard away.

Now, to the piano course. Is it the equivalent of six years of lessons and thousands of hours of practice and theoretical study? No. And it doesn't promise to be. Am I using my ear to figure out some chord progressions and songs I've dreamt of learning for 30 years? Yes.