Script to add Yamaha PSR-e443 to Cubase?

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
It should be easy enough to modify the PSR-E433 file for the PSR-E443, but as you say it's for Cakewalk. I'd love to know how to create instrument files for other DAWs. I'm almost tempted to buy Cakewalk just for that reason. ;)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score

SeaGtGruff

Reaction score
I've been using cakewalk products for the past two decades. And the format of their INS files has remained constant and universal across their product line in all of that time.

Yes, it's easy to create a Cakewalk instrument definition file-- I just wish it were as easy to create one for other DAWs! :) If I understand right, some DAWs can use Cakewalk instrument definition files, but I don't which ones can and can't.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Two which I believe can import Cakewalk INS files directly are Reaper and Anvil Studio.

For others it sometimes becomes a question of finding a conversion utility or else rolling up your sleeves and manually importing the files one entry at a time.

IIRC Steinberg is owned by Yamaha. Yet another reason why I avoid Yamaha products like the plague. In the interest of keeping their IP proprietary they yet again buck the industry standards and insist it's their way or the highway.

Then again, since we are talking a Yamaha keyboard here, it's entirely possible that they have the necessary script file already done up on their website and this entire discussion becomes moot.

Then again if you ever feel like dumping Cubase you can buy a legitimate copy of Cakewalk Music Creator 5 or 6 for under $40 and it already has every feature a home or semiprofessional recording artist could ask for. Unless you need to score a $100 Million Movie Cakewalk Sonar is loaded with features you will never need nor use.