YOUR HELP, GUYS

Reaction score
Dear friends,
I just found this gooorgeous forum, and not being very expert yet I would like to get some advice.

I own the mythical keyboard GX-200-S-PLUS, don't know if you heard 'bout it; a great machine in my opinion, which I got as Santa present.
However now that I have been playing for several months, I think it's about time to make the big jump into pro stuff, and your advice would be welcome. I tell you somethin more.

First of all, I read that one must say the kind of music he's into: in my band we mostly play covers of famous tunes like Eye of Tiger, Smoke on Water, and stuff from Madonna, John Denver, Yanni and Celine Dion.
We also play our own tunes, kinda progressive new wave, but not for live because they are longish (about 15 minutes).
We never played gigs but we'll start soon, we hope for a tour!!!

I also have a parallel project with my friend Luke who plays guitar, sort of jazz, but this is for later because I understand that you need to know four-note chords, and I don't yet know those.
We'll decide later about the songs, he keeps talking 'bout a russian (I think) guy, Zavinull, but I don't think he's that good, he plays very SLOW (I played to my friend a CD of a real tough guy like Richard Clayderman, and he was blown away).

There's a new music store close to my place, so I went there but they have so many keyboards that it's difficult to choose.
The shop guy was talking 'bout weighted keyboards, but I'm not sure I got it: does it mean that they have a precise weight, while for normal ones you don't know it exactly? Is it for shipping? I think it can't be that important, if you move them by car anyway.

I listened to the piano sounds, some were really nice like a real piano, but others I find really ugly: those of the "Rodes" brand didn't sound AT ALL like a piano!