comfortablyDumb

Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post on here, so please bear with me & I'll try to get to the point eventually!
I have been playing (acoustic) piano for 30 years, and have 'dabbled' with various (electronic) keyboards during that time. I am a full-time piano tuner/technician by trade, so I know all the things to look for in a good, playable, quality keyboard.
However, my knowledge of synth 'technology' is limited (I am not a complete novice, tho') & this is where I'm looking for your advice/opinion etc!
After a number of years of not playing in bands, I sold off my gear.
I have now got myself up & running again - ie: I've joined another band, & am making do with a couple of cheap keyboards for now.
I have some funds available (approx £2000 UKP/ $3000 USD) & would appreciate your views on how best to spend it!... what's out there that I don't know about?, do I go for new/used?, what are your experiences? & so on.
Here are my requirements (may seem fussy to some but, come on - you should know what it's like!).
The keyboards are to be mainly used for band rehearsal/live work... so portability is an issue - please don't suggest Korg Triton Studio 88!
A secondary but important requirement is for home-studio type purposes... ie laying down basic recordings (allied to a computer).
The music we play is melodic rock & I suppose the sounds I am looking for would be the sort of thing you'd hear by Floyd/ Yes/ Genesis through to Hawkwind-ish synth/ sound effects & stuff.
It is important that one keyboard is 88-note & weighted (I say 'one' keyboard cos I want at least two, so I can switch from one setting to another without having to pause to press unnecessary buttons -I am aware of split-keyboard options, but want the full range available- & I also feel more 'at home' behind 2 or 3 bits of kit!)
I really would appreciate any suggestions.
Thanks,
John.

Reaction score