Complete newbie needs help choosing a midi keyboard

Reaction score
Like the title says, basically I'm after a midi keyboard to control synths/whatever in Cubase. It doesn't have to be an 88 key monster or anything, and I'm not really looking to do 10 finger arpeggios whilst accompanying myself on the kazoo: just pretty basic playing, especially considering I've had no lessons and I'm basically a guitarist. Saying that, I don't want to get a dirt-cheap one that's built out of recycled cardboard and hand powered by an old car winder, I had a budget of £150/$220-ish, but I'd be willing to go up, even if it meant selling myself on the streets for a couple of nights. I guess a few things it'd have to have would be:

Some kind of USB connectivity;
keys with velocity sensitivity;
'aftertouch' sounds pretty interesting, though I'm not sure if that's important or necessary.

I really have no idea what's considered useful or good besides those, I suppose the keyboard itself wouldn't have to have the sound of angels singing or anything because I planned to use edirol orchestral/FM8 in Cubase. But of course, if anyone has any ideas or suggestions I'd like to hear them, maybe this is like saying 'I want a Ferrari for £1000, with laser lights and a secret rocket launcher'. :eek:

Reaction score
Just getting started with keyboards myself, but from what I've seen so far the Yamaha PSR-413 might be what the doctor ordered. Most shops sell it for the price you listed.

Some of Yamaha's lower-featured, lower-cost models might also be a good fit for you as well.

Reaction score