Few question from a complete newbie

Reaction score
First off, sorry for having my first post asking questions.

Now, I am thinking of getting into keyboard. A lot of bands that I like use them, and I find the instrument really fun. My problem is, when you want to learn a song on guitar, you just look up the tabs. I try to learn songs on keyboard, and I get some youtube video. Now I have to guess where he is playing these notes, + hope I can actually see what hes doing, + guess the right effect. How am I ever supposed to do all that!!

Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
It's almost like you have to learn to read music... or transcribe the music using your ear... it's almost like... dare I say it... it requires WORK and PRACTICE rather than being LAZY!

Reaction score
It depends what bands you're trying to emulate, but the best thing for you to start with is to learn how to read chords, as there are plenty of internet sites that give you keyboard chords for songs instead of guitar tabs. Once you've got that down, you can start on reading music and basic improvisation, but as PianoMan says, it's not easy, and you will have to work at it!

Reaction score
It's almost like you have to learn to read music... or transcribe the music using your ear... it's almost like... dare I say it... it requires WORK and PRACTICE rather than being LAZY!

Thanks for the warm reception...

Anyways its been like 3 days now, Ive gone on websites to learn about major chords, minor chords, scales and learned a few songs. I got Hot Cross Buns, Mary had a little lamb, and Row row your boat down pat!! (dont laugh!). Im now learning how to read tabs for some songs and am working on the beginning part of the Super Mario theme.

Reaction score
No one's laughing! Seriously, everyone has to start somewhere, and songs like those are usually the starting place of choice. You have an advantage in that you've already played guitar so you're not a complete beginner to music.