Connections....

Reaction score
hey guys hope all is well!

I just wanted to post what I think I know ( after much research ), about connecting my keyboard up before I go ahead and buy stuff I do not really need.... it would be great if someone could tell me im right or if I just wrote a big pack of fibs!

So, I currently run a condenser mic through a tube mp project, then straight into my computer. Terrific. Vocals, sax and harmonica all good.

I have just got a PX-5S ( Thanks to happyrat1 for the info ) I am new to keyboards but knew I would need to connect it somehow ( and also get some monitors..) only problem is I do not want to make bad connections and make things go fizz bang! So I think....

1) I could run a TRS cable from the mono connection in the keyboard to my tube mp and record that way, having the computer control the monitors, or at least have the monitors running from the computer. Only thing is i am not sure if i could then record mic and keyboard at the same time?

2) alternativly I could get a pair of TS stereo cables and run it into a seperate audio interface unit which then connects directly to the computer. This way I could also run speakers directly from the audio interface. Only thing is the vocals would still run through the pre amp, so.....

3) I could maybe connect the pre amp to the audio interface if i wanted both keyboard and vocals to come out of the monitors? they would also both be recorded on logic with the right DAW settings?

I should mention that none of this set up would be for gigging.... its all small home stuff and maybe a room of mates every now and then. with that in mind I would welcome any comments on my homework! also.... any suggestions.... even if it is possible to do (1), I might still prefer an audio interface so suggestions for a good small one and small monitors would be greatly appreciated!

thanks in advance!

Dan

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Take a look at my rig for a few suggestions.