Help with connections

Reaction score
So i am new to this. Im thinking of buying usb audio interface and midi keyboard, but im not sure about how to connect them. As far as i understand, audio interdace goes to my PC through usb and then i should connect my speakers to audio interface, right? But what about midi keyboard? Should i connect it to PC or also to audio interface?

Reaction score
If a keyboard has an USB-B connector in general you can just plug and play it to a USB-A slot on a computer. No need for an interface.
Depending on the keyboard you might need to download (free) drivers for the communication and some midi-programs for the PC to play with.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Here's some reading on how to hook up a Digital Audio Workstation.

http://www.ehow.com/how_7615706_wire-midi-patch-bay.html

http://www.ehow.com/how_7724362_wire-music-studio.html

http://www.blareshare.com/music/recording-studio/basic-studio-setup-for-home-recording-and-mixing/

Basically you can make a home studio as simple or as complicated as you want or need to.

It depends if you are hooking up a simple MIDI controller or a full blown MIDI Synthesizer.

If you are planning on using a simple controller and soft synths then you can use, but don't necessarily need the USB audio interface. Most computer sound cards can handle the job well enough on their own.

If you are instead opting for a synthesizer again you don't really need the audio interface. The average computer sound card is more than capable of digitizing CD quality audio and if your system is relatively modern and fast enough there should be no huge problems running soft synths as well.

Anyway, I'd advise doing some solid research on google before you buy and try and define your goals and skillset before laying out any cash.

Reaction score
Thanks, but the thing is that i already tried to connect my synthesizer to computer but i get big latency and delay.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!