Digital Piano w/one touch layering...?

Reaction score
I am on a fruitless search for an 88 key unit with good piano/Wurli/Rhodes and strings which I can add in real time with ONE button, and likewise, remove with one button. I don't need anything else. Just piano with the ability to layer strings on a bridge. SIMPLE, but it seems designers need to add on all that crap we don't need. I am an aging working musician who needs portability (25 pds max) and SIMPLICITY. Ideas? Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Welcome.

First question is BUDGET, what is it?

Without spending a lot of time myself researching what you can also do

Within a reasonable budget take a look at: -

Studio Logic Numa Compact 2x

Yamaha P125

Korg D1

Roland FP30

Roland Go Piano 88

Some of these will probably require a compromise but I think that most of these are within your weight limit

Reaction score
Welcome to the forums. I recently got a used Yamaha MOXF8 (32 lbs wt) and it has a very decent keybed and some good Pianos/Rhodes/Strings sounds. [Sample memory can be added (up to 1 Gig) to install more sounds. and Yamaha has some good free ones you can download.] I really like the way it sounds and plays so I also got a MOXF6 (61 key, 15lbs)) for my 2nd tier. On the MOXF you can push one button to layer two sounds. I don't use that feature, but I set up a list of favorites which include the custom various layers which I use. There are other ways to set up "performances" as well. I got my nice (used) MOXF8 for $1,000 . I would encourage you to look at a MOXF8. Don aka B3

Last edited:
Reaction score
Check out the Casio PX-560M comes in at 26 lbs and has a touch screen. Once you get set up to do the layer, you just touch the screen to turn the layer sound (strings) on and off. this might be the ticket for you? I have a PX5S Casio and it has pretty decent Piano and Rhodes. I just don't like the keybed on my Casio and I've had it 6 years. Don

Reaction score