Kronos: Stuck on notes


Joined
Oct 14, 2009
Messages
42
Reaction score
4
Hi,

My set up is my Yamaha Motif ES is the Master (I really need to upgrade) and the Kronos is the Slave. I have been using this combination for a long time.

On a couple of gigs recently, I've noticed that the Kronos had some stuck on notes. Not sure why because if it was the sustain pedal, it would effect both keyboards and be constant. But this was on random patches and after messing with going in and out the program, it corrected itself and didn't occur again the rest of the night. This happened on two separate gigs. The only constant is that the gigs were consecutive back to back days.

I've tried to recreate the problem at home but can't. It's just random. Yes, I need to bring it in for repairs, but if I can't recreate it I'm thinking they won't be able to help me and I've just lost a trip charge. But I might be wrong.

Anyone else have this problem?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
554
Reaction score
82
Location
South Carolina
Maybe a bit of dust in the ES keyboard. It is always a good idea to clean them occasionally using "canned air" (same product used to blow out computer keyboard). If that doesn't help you may have a sticky switch/sensor. Don
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 14, 2009
Messages
42
Reaction score
4
Maybe a bit of dust in the ES keyboard. It is always a good idea to clean them occasionally using "canned air" (same product used to blow out computer keyboard). If that doesn't help you may have a sticky switch/sensor. Don
I'll try go do that, but the problem was the Kronos. The Yamaha wasn't giving me a problem.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2009
Messages
42
Reaction score
4
Possibly a dodgy MIDI cable? Try swapping out for a known good cable.

Gary ;)
I actually used two different cables, so that's not it. And in 20 years, I have never had a problem with a MIDI cable.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
554
Reaction score
82
Location
South Carolina
The Yamaha wasn't giving me a problem.
Think.........the midi commands for the Kronos all come from the Yamaha via midi. That would include the "midi note off' command for the stuck note key. Probably dirt on a contact, or slowly failing contact, on the Yamaha ES.
 
Ad

Advertisements

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
8,367
Reaction score
3,550
Location
GTA, Canada
Or it could be a MIDI timing issue. That's why I suspected the cable. And I have seen MIDI cables fail in the past twenty years. Not often but they can be a bitch to diagnose. How long are the cables you're using? I would recommend the shorter the better.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2009
Messages
42
Reaction score
4
Or it could be a MIDI timing issue. That's why I suspected the cable. And I have seen MIDI cables fail in the past twenty years. Not often but they can be a bitch to diagnose. How long are the cables you're using? I would recommend the shorter the better.

Gary ;)
They are the 3 foot cables and I used two different ones on each day. So unless it's a real coincidence that both cables are faulty, I'm thinking it might be a sticky sensor as b3maniac suggested.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
8,367
Reaction score
3,550
Location
GTA, Canada
If it is a sticky sensor then the problem should be isolated to a handful of notes on one or two octaves at the most.

Try testing all the keys to see if you can recreate the problem.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2009
Messages
42
Reaction score
4
If it is a sticky sensor then the problem should be isolated to a handful of notes on one or two octaves at the most.

Try testing all the keys to see if you can recreate the problem.

Gary ;)
Lol. Did I mention I've been using those keyboards for the last two gigs and it only happened randomly? I'm pretty sure I've tested all the keys on the keyboard by now.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
8,367
Reaction score
3,550
Location
GTA, Canada
Do you happen to remember which notes got stuck?

If it is a sensor problem it will take a lot more than a squirt of compressed air to fix it.

It usually involves disassembling the keybed and cleaning the contacts with 95% isopropyl alcohol.

Gary ;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top