Looking for live performance setup (newbie here)

Reaction score
Ok, I am a classically-trained piano player who is about to form a cover band with several friends/acquaintances. We are very serious about performing and delivering a quality product on stage.

Right, now I have a 10-year-old 88-key digital piano (Roland FP-9). I need something that has way more sound capability. Many of the songs we'll be playing are modern pop favorites so it is important that I am able to mimic a lot of the sounds and effects that are in the actual recording of the originals.

Being a newbie to this, I have no idea what a typical stage setup looks like. For example, how does one switch between different sounds on the fly? I'd think newer keyboards would have one-touch programmable buttons for different sound profiles (for example, the left half of the keyboard is one sound and the right half is another). Or perhaps these different sound profiles can be controlled via pedals. I don't know. You'll have to forgive me if I'm not using proper terminology also. I hope someone can lead me in the right direction so I can buy the proper gear to make this work.

I have roughly $3000 to spend, but I have no idea what a typical average stage setup would cost.

Do I need just one keyboard that does all of what I need? Do I pair my existing digital piano with something else (a synthesizer)? How do they interface and interact with each other?

Thanks for reading!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Possible candidates include Nord Stage, Kurzweil Artis or the new Artis SE coming out soon or a used SP5-8.

Generally speaking most workstations and stage pianos can store user registrations and bring them back with one or two button presses as well as offering the option to program a pedal to cycle thru the sounds of your set with each footpress.