MIDI Newbie here with quick question....

Reaction score
Hello all, and thanks for reading.

I have a Yamaha KX8 that has MIDI in/out....(and USB)

Also have an Ensoniq VFX with MIDI in/out/thru.

In my computer I have the E-Mu 0404 PCI that has MIDI in/out.

What's the best way to connect all of this?
I would like to play software VST's and the sounds of the VFX on the Yamaha KX8 because it has really nice 88 keybed, but obviously also just be able to play the VFX with its sounds in combination with VST's also. (I hope not saying this too confusing)

To make things easier, is there a website with pics of different scenarios that I can view? I might want to add a Korg or Roland box in the future also...just to mess around with.

Thanks in advance,
Brian

The Y_man

Reaction score
Join as follows:

Yamaha Midi Out > VFX Midi In
VFX Midi Thru > Emu Midi in

Should do the trick.

If you want everything to sound at the same time, set the receive channels on the VFX and Emu/PC to the same as the send channel on the Yamaha.

The Y-man

Reaction score
Well, that worked...somewhat.
Can I have it where I can play the Yamaha and have it sound the Enosniq VFX and vst's...but also have the option of playing the VFX and sounding the VFX itself and vst's?
I hope that makes sense....would play the Yamaha for piano stuff and play the VFX for synth stuff.
Getting confused on trying to route everything to sound what and how I want.

Yamaha KX8 - play the sounds of the VFX and software vst.
Ensoniq VFX - play the sounds of the VFX and software vst.

Is this possible?

I also have a MIDI to USB interface cable from Emu and of course the KX8 has MIDI In/Out and USB connection....if that helps solve anything?

Thanks,
Brian

The Y_man

Reaction score
Uh, if you have USB connectivity, connect everything up to the PC (use a USB hub if required)

Set the Yamaha send channel to 2 (arbitrary)
Set the VFX receive channel to 2
Set the vst/PC receive channel to omni