MIDI keyboard for total newbie?

Reaction score
My first posting here and my question might be as dumb as dumb can get but here it goes...
In my late life (60) I have found a love for wanting to learn and play the keyboard.
I've been playing guitar for about 25-30 years and on a recent trip to a big box music store I got curious about the Korg 37 mini midi keyboard, took it home and for a couple of weeks I have seen an improvement from the first day but I'm noticing its limitations, small keys and not enough of them.
Being drawn to midi keyboards for their size and different sound options, I'm thinking of trading the small Korg for either a 49 or 61 midi keyboard with larger keys.
Am I making another mistake or should I go for something even larger and how's the idea of using a midi keyboard as a practice tool for a beginner sounds or would I be better off with one of the entry level Casio-Yamaha with the built in sound?

Last edited:
Reaction score
Mini-keys are a bad choice for learning keyboard. (I have a microKorg XL+, and they're harder to control than full-size keys).

If you want to play classical piano music you need 88 weighted keys.

If you want to play with two hands, IMHO you need 61 keys or more. I strongly prefer weighted keys (I grew up with a piano), but most 61-key keyboards have synth-action (spring-loaded) keys, and they'll be OK unless you get into serious piano playing. They're standard for synth and organ sounds.

What are you using, now, as a sound generator? Is it built into the Korg, or are you using computer-generated sound? And what's your budget?

. Charles

Reaction score
Charles
Thanks for replying. I know this question must have been asked many times before but I always like to listen and learn from the experienced.
The micro Korg feels like a nice instrument and I'm sure it has it's use but in about a week, I seemed to have "outgrown" it.