Newbe needs advice on hooking up Korg M1 to Cakewalk Touch 6

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm really new with all of this, and haven't visited anything MIDI for years and years.
I'm trying to get back into this, and I have an old Korg M1 in great shape that I'm trying to connect via midi to Cakewalk Creative Touch 6 running on my Windows 8.1 laptop. The interface between the Korg and the PC is a Roland UM-ONE mk2.
I've followed the instructions that came with the UM-ONE and believe I have the MIDI connections hooked correctly. I can't get the Cakewalk software see the Korg M1.
I wondering if anyone has connected a Korg M1 to Creative Touch 6, how they did it and what definition files did they use?
I'm not afraid of doing the work, but I don't know where to start the setup. I'm also unclear on how to do some basic communication tests to just see if the PC finds the keyboard.
Thanks for any advice, help, and direction you can give me.
WSC

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
First of all do you have the MIDI hooked up properly to your interface?

MIDI IN always connects to MIDI OUT and MIDI OUT always connects to MIDI IN.

If Cakewalk is not seeing your M1 in the MIDI Devices Menu try swapping the connectors (WITH THE POWER TURNED OFF)

After that you should be able to import the Korg INS file that ships with Cakewalk and select the M1 from the available synths. M1 is already included with the package.

Here's Cakewalk's INS FAQ. Give it a looksee and see if you've made any errors.

https://www.cakewalk.com/Support/Knowledge-Base/2007013272/Instrument-Definitions

If you still have any problems feel free to report back here.

Gary ;)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
BTW, I'm assuming that you have a USB to MIDI interface hooked up between the keyboard and the computer.

Most interfaces don't require drivers but yours may be different.