Rosieseagle

Reaction score
Hi. I'm not a keyboard player, but have a wife that's wanting to learn, so I have invested in all the lessons and goodies to indulge her and have run into a problem. I live in a rural area so thing are pretty much DIYS if possible. I bought my wife a Casio Keyboard. ( I forgot the number, but it is a big one. It works FINE, on Batteries, but with the batteries OUT and the AC adapter plugged in, I get NOTHING. Wont power on at all. Install the 6 D cells, and everything works great. Is that normal or do I have a problem. If the keyboard needs fixing, I will have to send it SOMEWHERE, and I figure that will probably be more expensive than just getting her another keyboard. I bought this one used, thinking that if she didn't stick with it, I wouldn't be out so much, and as I said, it works GREAT on Batteries. Just seems like it should work with the AC adapter, weather batteries are installed or not, but I have ZERO experience with these things and thought id ask someone who did. Any help will be appreciated.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
First of all test the voltage output of the adapter with a DVOM. If it doesn't test out between 9 and 15 volts DC then it's a bum adapter. Easy and cheap to replace.

Otherwise it's something internal to the keyboard, maybe a broken or disconnected connector or something similar. Take it to a mom and pop computer shop and ask them how much to fix it. Any decent computer tech should be able to fix it for under $100.

Gary

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
One other thing. Is the adapter a genuine Casio product or is it a generic third party wall wart?

If it's a generic no name adapter a lot of them have problems with the connector. Casio uses a slightly off sized connector on their keyboards and you'll have to order an original manufacturers part if it's a generic.

What model number is the keyboard and what part number is listed on your adapter?

Gary

Reaction score