SP4 Help! Timbre Knob Values Keep Changing

Discussion in 'Kurzweil Keyboards' started by Laura Anna, Nov 5, 2016.

  1. Laura Anna

    Laura Anna

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    My SP4 Timbre Knob is stationary but the values keep creeping up to 127 no matter what I set it to. I've backed up all data and did a full Global Factory Hard Reset with no impact. It is causing huge morphing to my patches. Anyone else have this issue and able to get it fixed? It's been to the shop twice :-( I have e other brands of high end boards and still come back to this one as my favorite.
     
    Laura Anna, Nov 5, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Laura Anna

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,128
    Likes Received:
    1,694
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Hi Laura,

    It sounds to me like the Timbre Potentiometer needs to be replaced. Dunno what your service guys did for you but they may have replaced the part with a cheaper part if they replaced it at all and didn't just give it a spray of cleaning fluid.

    At any rate, you could email Jean over at support@kurzweil.com or ask your question over at http://forums.godlike.com.au/ the definitive Kurzweil Forum.

    Other than that I'm fresh out of ideas.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Nov 5, 2016
    #2
    Laura Anna likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Laura Anna

    delaware dave

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    90
    I have a different model Kurz than you but there are controllers that you can disable on mine with the internal setup. For example, if my pitch bend were faulty I could disable it in the internal setup. If the SP4 works this way then you could do the same thing. However, this would make that controller completely useless since it would be disabled; it is a temporary workaround until it is repaired, unless you don't use that controller.
     
    delaware dave, Nov 8, 2016
    #3
    Laura Anna likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. stburks

    Fantom X8 Knob Assignment

    stburks, Feb 8, 2009, in forum: alt.music.synth.roland
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,991
    stburks
    Feb 8, 2009
  2. emrose2@hvc.rr.com

    help keep getting this error message in cubase sx

    emrose2@hvc.rr.com, Jul 19, 2004, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    480
    emrose2@hvc.rr.com
    Jul 19, 2004
  3. Dave

    DrumParts S/Q Values

    Dave, Sep 9, 2004, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    343
  4. Locsmándi Bence

    Presonus Central Station vs. Mackie Big Knob

    Locsmándi Bence, Mar 7, 2005, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,186
  5. Hueyduck
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    1,037
    Jos Geluk
    Jul 18, 2009
  6. KingR@y
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    553
    KingR@y
    Oct 13, 2003
  7. Jay
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    421
  8. lcollins

    SP4-7 8 keys not responding properly, HELP!

    lcollins, Jul 5, 2013, in forum: Kurzweil Keyboards
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    1,270
    delaware dave
    Jul 6, 2013
Loading...