Very basic question: NektarGX49...how can I get sounds?

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a drummer with some keyboard playing experience. I want to be able to perform playing basic chords with my left hand while playing the beat with my right.

I purchased a Nektar GX49 MIDI controller due to the smaller size and it comes with BitWig software.

Other than the best answer (buy a different keyboard that does what I want), I am trying to figure out how to get the sounds I need. Things like different synth sounds and organs. Not so much pianos.

Can anyone help?

Reaction score
You will need a Laptop and follow Scott’s link in prior post.

I you do not want the hastle of a Laptop installation then sell or return the Nektar and buy a keyboard with onboard sounds.

Korg Kross 2, Roland Juno DS, Yamaha MX are some but you will still need an amp or powered speakers.

All depends upon how and where you want to perform.

Supply more info for better advice

Reaction score
You will need a Laptop and follow Scott’s link in prior post.

I you do not want the hastle of a Laptop installation then sell or return the Nektar and buy a keyboard with onboard sounds.

Korg Kross 2, Roland Juno DS, Yamaha MX are some but you will still need an amp or powered speakers.

All depends upon how and where you want to perform.

Supply more info for better advice
We are an acoustic guitar and drum (electronic) duo, both sing, and we use a Bose Pro system with dual sub woofers. We perform at small local establishments, usually taverns. Sometimes space is limited. We use a powered Beringer speaker as a monitor.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Or a cheaper solution...

You can actually plug a DIN MIDI controller into either of these and play them on the fly with your keyboard hand.

Gary ;)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
The volca is not polytonic, but the TB-3 can handle chords just fine.

I'm thinking use a small synth as a module.