SOUNDS: Korg M50 vs Roland Fantom G7 vs Yamaha Motif XS6

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm new to this forum, but I've been playing music for 12 years and composing for 6. I'm 18 years old, I've been described as a cross between David Foster, Danny Elfman and Weird Al Yankovic (crazy combo, I know), and the time has come, after some local popular success of some of my songs, for me to purchase a new workstation to compliment my very modest existing setup (Sony Acid 7, Casio CTK-800 arranger, various other little tools). For the past little while I've been relying on mostly software (SF, VST) instruments to create my music.

So, this brings me to my question(s): Which keyboard (Korg M50, Roland Fantom G7, Yamaha Motif SX6) contains the best SOUNDS. I'd particularly like to hear opinions on the Orchestral instruments (strings, brass, plus individual patches).

I was able to play the M50 for a bit yesterday, and I'll try to get my hands on a Motif and Fantom, but I wanted to hear what people who were experienced in these keyboards thought as well.

Also, do the Motif and Fantom also have support for using their instrument's sounds as a VST plug-in? I know the M50 does but I wasn't able to get an answer about the other two.

I've sort of narrowed it down to these three because they all seem (hopefully?) to be under $2500 Canadian.

Anyway, sorry for the really long post, but if anyone has opinions to share about these three models or on these questions in particular, I'd love to hear them and I'm sure others would too. :)

Thanks again, I'd truly appreciate some help :D

Reaction score
About VSTs, I know Yahama's MO series has plugin capabilities, and I'm pretty sure the Motif does as well.