Yamaha YC 73

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I’m new to the forum, and I’m looking to get a new keyboard. I would like to get one keyboard that would fit my needs, that won’t weigh too much (back problems), and will fit into my small Toyota Yaris. I’ve seen several videos on the new Yamaha YC series, and I was particularly interested in the YC 73. I’m primarily a piano player, and I’m used to keyboards with weighted keys. I currently have a Yamaha MX88 and Yamaha P115. I was looking to get a keyboard that has a greater ability to modify the sound at live performances, and that has a better organ section with draw bars. I mostly use acoustic piano and electric piano patches, but I really wanted to work on my organ playing. I am playing in jazz and funk bands, and I’m a church musician. I read that the action on the YC 73 is similar to that of a Rhodes. I wanted to try one, so I called the Guitar Center and Sam Ash stores here in the Los Angeles area. I was told that there was no store in the LA area that had any of the YC series on their floor to be played. They said that it was mostly due to the pandemic. So, I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on the YC 73 and if anyone had played one and could tell me what the action was like. I know it’s a new series, but I assume that there are a few out there.

Thank you,

thomasmichael

Reaction score
YC73 has same action as CP73, so maybe you can find that one in some store to try...?

But if by "I want to work on my organ playing" you mean you want to develop better organ technique, I'd avoid hammer actions. OTOH, non-hammer actions will not be as good for your piano work. So the best answer is to use two keyboards. You'd be better off putting a YC61 over your MX88 or P115.

Reaction score