Yamaha yc61 and Casio Px5s midi problem

Reaction score
Connecting the Yc61 as a master or slave with the casio px5s via midi causes the Yc61s sounds to freeze up and continually hold notes. Has anyone else had this problem and solved it?

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I have no experience with either of those keyboards, but it sounds like it might be something to do with the Note Off messages either not being received or not being interpreted correctly. That might seem obvious, but sometimes the obvious turns out to be wrong, so it's best not to assume anything. Have you tried using a MIDI monitor to see what the messages look like? And how are you connecting them together?

Reaction score
Connecting the Yc61 as a master or slave with the casio px5s via midi causes the Yc61s sounds to freeze up and continually hold notes. Has anyone else had this problem and solved it?
Explain your midi connections please. What is being connected to what, i.e. midi out of this to midi in of that, etc. for EVERYTHING in the midi chain when this event occurs.

SeaGtGruff

Reaction score
I haven't looked at the manual for the YC61 yet, but a cursory glance at the MIDI reference for the PX-5S shows that (1) the PX-5S can use high-resolution Note On/Off velocities, and (2) the PX-5S looks like it might use a Note Off velocity of h40 by default rather than a Note Off velocity of h00.

If you're trying to use the PX-5S as the controller for playing the YC61, I would recommend connecting it to your computer so you can use MIDI monitor software to see what the PX-5S is outputting for Note Off events.

If you're trying to use the YC61 as the controller, I would do the same with the YC61.