PA4X Polyphony

Reaction score
I've noticed some notes dropping when playing my PA4X. It's been happening on occasion when I have all the backing instruments & pads playing behind me.

It sounds like it simply runs out of polyphony and can't handle all the sounds. Anybody experienced this before? Could it be some setting I have turned on or off? I'm not an expert, but I had assumed if I bought a top of the line arranger this would be a non-issue.

Reaction score
128 voices of polyphony. How its implemented by the manufacturer also factors into the equation. Kurzweil has always been known to have the best algorithm. Their approach is similar to how MP3 conversion works; notes 3db less than other notes (i.e. the softest notes) are the 1st ones dropped, so they are the least noticeable. Many manufacturers use envelope structure; Ensoniq allowd the user to prioritize the instruments to high, medium and low. Sustain pedal also will extend the notes allowing polyphony to build up and getting to the limit faster. Minimize the sustain pedal, this will give you a little more 'headroom'.

Reaction score
I'm assuming the backup instruments & pads all come out of the same 'bucket' available?

In this case it's dropping the sustain on notes as I play them so it's extremely obvious. I haven't noticed it very often so perhaps there are other times it's dropping soft sounds that aren't noticeable anyway.

I believe some instruments take up more polyphony than others? I'm using Reuben's piano sounds because they're way better than the preloaded sounds but I'm wondering if it could be a factor.

Reaction score
It can happen depending upon the combination of Sounds and Styles used.

Some sounds like the C5 which if I am right are resource demanding will eat up the available facilities very easily.

Having all layers active and Pads operating together can initiate the algorithm which selects and drops notes to stay within the capabilities of the Pa.