Anything better than PSR-EW400

Reaction score
Hi all,

Looking at purchasing my first keyboard to learn with and am currently drawn to the Yamaha PSR-EW400.

Is there a better keyboard for a beginner not wanting to buy a cheap, nasty keyboard and hoping for something that will last a few years learning?

Price range - £200 to £400

I have only really.considered Yamaha to this point, I have little knowledge of other manufacturers, but have an open mind.

Thanks!

Fred Coulter

Collector of ancient keyboards
Reaction score
What are you looking for? The PSR-EW400 is an arranger, which means that it can create accompaniments for you. In the United States, there's a bit of arranger/workstation divisions that isn't as strong in the rest of the world.

Arrangers also tend to have built in speakers, which the "professional" keyboards don't.

Personally, it looks good to me. If you're interested in playing piano eventually, I'd recommend something with weighted keys. If not, then don't worry about it.

I would recommend that you work on left hand technique, and not rely on the arranger functions. There's nothing wrong with an arranger, but there may come a time when you've become overly reliant on them.

Reaction score
Thanks for the info!

I am mainly interested in playing simple ballard type music, think Coldplay or the Beatles, I have no idea if this will lead me towards piano playing, but that's a possibility.

I am less interested in the Arrangers side of playing, but it's something that I could enjoy playing with as I progress?!

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I think one of the main questions you'll want to consider is whether you're more interested in learning to play piano (including electric piano) or organ/synth. The PSR-EW400 has organ/synth-style keys, whereas something in the DGX line will have more piano-like keys.