Best digital piano for experienced musician but newbie keyboard player

Reaction score
I'm an experienced amateur musician coming to piano for the first time.

In actual fact I really want to play harmonium (I restore portable harmoniums) which fits my musical interests pretty well (Nordic traditional music). A digital keyboard offers the advantage of potentially playing without disturbing the neighbours :)

I've been looking at the Casio CDP-230 - but the lack of ivory feel keys and the whole loads of samples and effects I dont need and will never use is a turn off - I'd rather put my ££ into a better digital piano that offers a limited number of good sounds.

What I'm considering is:
- good piano and organ sounds
- ability to sample and playback samples (I fancy sampling my harmoniums)
- some effects (eg hall) would be nice
- ability to play along to a backing track
- weighted keys
- ivory feel keys
- good built-in speakers

Thinking further ahead, I'd like to take to jam sessions and/or gig with the keyboard too.

My budget could stretch to £1k for the right instrument.

What would you suggest as a good starter instrument?

Last edited:
Reaction score
Ah -- harmonium -- the kirtan's favorite instrument . . .

I found that the closest thing to a harmonium sound, in the "General MIDI" soundset that many keyboards have, was a "Reed Organ". Not the same, but similar (as you would expect).

I was able to take one of the organ sounds on my MicroKorg XL+, and modify it so that it sounds reasonably close to a harmonium, complete with the slow "breathing" (low-frequency tremelo effect) that is integral to the sound.
_If_ you want to play in that sandbox, you'll need a fully-programmable synthesizer.