best live rig for yamaha digital grand

Reaction score
hello -

new member here, I imagine this topic has been covered in the past, so please excuse redundancy...

I have been a touring musician for years and have always struggled with properly amplifying my digital piano on stage. I have had good results going direct through the PA, but not every venue has the ability to give good monitoring for the stage. I prefer to be in control of my sound in any case.

I have currently have a P-80 and got an old Roland JC-77 amp. I think the speakers are probably tired, but the rig doesnt sound that good. The piano sounds great through ear phones, where I get a stereo image. The JC-77 has two inputs but is not a true two channel amp so I dont get a stereo representation. Cant I get an even, realistic piano sound in mono or do I have to run it stereo?

For those of you with similar situations (gigging live with digital grand p120, 140, 60, 80 etc), who has a solution to this rig dilemma?!

do I have to get a small powered PA head or something? or should I just put some better speakers (like peavey scorpion ultras) in the JC-77?

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum.

I’ve seen these questions come up on another keyboard forum
a number of times and there is a lot of opinion over there.
Topics about “stereo vs mono”, “amp vs PA speakers” , and “what,s the best solution”, seem to be sensitive on that forum because those are very subjective, and everyone pretty much has their own preferences and ideas.

That said, I’m happy to offer some thoughts here if for no other reason than to give you some things to think about.

When I was playing for a living (long ago), it was hard to pay the bills and afford to buy high dollar gear. So, I mostly had to shop around and find decent used equipment rather than pay top dollar for new amps and speakers. So , I understand money can be a large factor in those decisions.