Casiotone 701

Reaction score
While I was playing I smelled something burning and smoke was cumming out of the keyboard. I opened-up the keyboard but I can't see anything wrong. Anyone had a similar problem or idea what it can be?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Smoke coming out is a BIIIIGGGGGG NONO!!!

Unplug it.

Simple explanation??

Unplug it.

Something inside cooked.

Long explanation?

Take it to a tech before it burns your house down...

Gary ;)

Reaction score
While I was playing I smelled something burning and smoke was cumming out of the keyboard. I opened-up the keyboard but I can't see anything wrong. Anyone had a similar problem or idea what it can be?
I'm pretty sure you were playing too fast. The friction caused by the pace of fast playing can often cause components in cheaper keyboards to heat up to the point of combustion.

I'm not an expert on Casio, but I believe the "701" designation on your model refers to its safe operable limit in degrees fahrenheit.

A simple solution that might assist: Read your sheet music, if you see a notation such as "Allegro" or "Allegretto" simply strike it out, or maybe white it out if you prefer and hand write "Adagio", "Lento" or "Largo" in its place.

You should find this slows the music considerably, allowing you to operate your keyboard safely and without further heat-related incident.

Last edited:
Reaction score
I had the same. One of the square capacitors (22n Y2) near the power supply is burned. Look for black traces in the capacitor's shell and on the pcb (you can still see black traces behind the bottom one of my 701). Replacing them both is a piece of cake.

IMG_5362.jpg

Reaction score
I had the same. One of the square capacitors (22n Y2) near the power supply is burned. Look for black traces in the capacitor's shell and on the pcb (you can still see black traces behind the bottom one of my 701). Replacing them both is a piece of cake.

View attachment 2107