Help with Casiotone MT-100 - AC adapter works but batteries don't

Discussion in 'Casio Keyboards' started by Teresa, Aug 18, 2016.

  1. Teresa

    Teresa

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Hi everyone,

    I bought a used Casiotone off eBay and found that it works with the adapter but doesn't power on even with new batteries. The old batteries that it came with looked like one or two had leaked. Is there anything I can do to fix this?

    Thanks in advance,
    Teresa
     
    Teresa, Aug 18, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Teresa

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,300
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Open it up and disassemble the battery contacts and carefully clean them with a toothbrush and a saturated solution of baking soda and water.

    Then rinse with warm water and let dry.

    The jumper wires to the battery clips may have also corroded and may have to be cut, stripped clean and resoldered into place.

    If all that doesn't fix it then it's a goner.

    It's worth like $20 on craigslist anyway so no great loss.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Aug 18, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Teresa

    Teresa

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you for the helpful reply Gary! Is there a proper way to disassemble to battery contacts? I've never done this before.

    Best,
    Teresa
     
    Teresa, Aug 20, 2016
    #3
  4. Teresa

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,300
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Taking these things apart and successfully putting them back together again is an exercise in puzzle solving.

    Sorry I can't help you with this but you could take a look at a couple of youtube videos to see how they come apart in general and apply a few simple hand tools and some mechanical knowhow to tackle the problem.

    https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=fixing leaky battery compartment in keyboard

    https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=casio keyboard repair

    https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=casio keyboard leaky battery

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Aug 20, 2016
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Solemio
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    386
    Solemio
    Nov 9, 2003
  2. lancelightning

    Cubase works fine, but it slow down the rest of my system

    lancelightning, Nov 30, 2003, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    429
    Aphelion
    Dec 1, 2003
  3. Steve Rawlinson

    MTC works but looping does not

    Steve Rawlinson, Jun 2, 2004, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    371
    Steve Rawlinson
    Jun 3, 2004
  4. walter
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    319
    walter
    Nov 3, 2009
  5. Cipher Church
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,763
    Cipher Church
    May 25, 2012
Loading...