Help with Casiotone MT-100 - AC adapter works but batteries don't

Discussion in 'Casio Keyboards' started by Teresa, Aug 18, 2016.

  1. Teresa

    Teresa

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I bought a used Casiotone off eBay and found that it works with the adapter but doesn't power on even with new batteries. The old batteries that it came with looked like one or two had leaked. Is there anything I can do to fix this?

    Thanks in advance,
    Teresa
     
    Teresa, Aug 18, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Teresa

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,938
    Likes Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Open it up and disassemble the battery contacts and carefully clean them with a toothbrush and a saturated solution of baking soda and water.

    Then rinse with warm water and let dry.

    The jumper wires to the battery clips may have also corroded and may have to be cut, stripped clean and resoldered into place.

    If all that doesn't fix it then it's a goner.

    It's worth like $20 on craigslist anyway so no great loss.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Aug 18, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Teresa

    Teresa

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the helpful reply Gary! Is there a proper way to disassemble to battery contacts? I've never done this before.

    Best,
    Teresa
     
    Teresa, Aug 20, 2016
    #3
  4. Teresa

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,938
    Likes Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Taking these things apart and successfully putting them back together again is an exercise in puzzle solving.

    Sorry I can't help you with this but you could take a look at a couple of youtube videos to see how they come apart in general and apply a few simple hand tools and some mechanical knowhow to tackle the problem.

    https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=fixing+leaky+battery+compartment+in+keyboard

    https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=casio+keyboard+repair

    https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=casio+keyboard+leaky+battery

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Aug 20, 2016
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Solemio
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    427
    Solemio
    Nov 9, 2003
  2. lancelightning

    Cubase works fine, but it slow down the rest of my system

    lancelightning, Nov 30, 2003, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    469
    Aphelion
    Dec 1, 2003
  3. Steve Rawlinson

    MTC works but looping does not

    Steve Rawlinson, Jun 2, 2004, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    410
    Steve Rawlinson
    Jun 3, 2004
  4. Si

    Cubase 5 - MIDI recording works, but silent

    Si, Sep 11, 2005, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    879
  5. walter
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    358
    walter
    Nov 3, 2009
  6. Cipher Church
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,809
    Cipher Church
    May 25, 2012
  7. Fishingmusician1

    Little Cindy Don't You Cry

    Fishingmusician1, Jan 23, 2017, in forum: My Music
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    167
    Fishingmusician1
    Jan 24, 2017
  8. happyrat1

    Snow is Pretty When You Don't Have to Shovel it...

    happyrat1, Feb 12, 2017, in forum: Off-Topic Lounge
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    174
    Becky
    Feb 13, 2017
Loading...