Downloading from Axial to the DS61

Reaction score
I’m new to the DS61. I currently play a Nord keyboard as my main board and a Juno D as my secondary. While the Juno D still fills a role, I love the sounds available on the Axial website.

I can download sounds specific to the DS61 with no problem but when I try to download the older ones for the Juno Di (XV-5080 sound banks) I get garbage files. What’s the trick? I’m told these sounds are compatible with the DS61 and that the DS61 And Juno Di share the same synth engine and there should be no problem. Finding out it just ain’t so. Anybody got a solution on how to get those XV-5080 sounds into the DS61?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I'd like to know the answer to this one myself.

I guess the best solution is to ask Roland Tech Support directly and post the answer here.

I'll get back to you if I find and answer and if you find out first then by all means post it here.

Gary ;)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
From what I gathered on the web I think you have to use the Patch Librarian Software from Roland to load the JXL files.

My DS is not hooked up to a computer so I cannot test this theory out.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Thanks Gary. I will look into that. It's odd the JUNO DS specific sounds can be downloaded directly to my computer without the Librarian while the VX-5080 downloads render garbage files.

Ed

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
The Juno DS sounds are .BIN files while the DI sounds are JXL.

Probably some sort of Java XML file.

Let us know if you get them working.

Gary ;)

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hi Guys and Gals,