Dream for the perfect rig

Reaction score
So I’ve been dreaming and researching for a while now and I’m thinking I know what my “perfect rig” would be.
Hybrid of VSTs, ableton + hardware boards
4 boards total, configurable depending on the gig

1. 88 stage piano (looking at yc88, Nord S3, fantom)
2. Some kind of fun synth (currently have a minilogue)
3. 49/61 key midi controller (using komplete S49, have a broken axiom pro 61 that needs fixing for organs)

4. Custom pad/playback board - this is where things get exciting and where I have questions…

5. Bonus! I’m also a drummer and think it would be awesome to add a multipad rig with pedals and full output capabilities (FOH can mix kick, snare, hats, etc)

I’m looking to build a case to hold a rack set up of DI, midi interface, audio interface, power supply, a 14” mbp + possibility of future Mac mini, and what ever else may be needed.

On top of this case would be a touchscreen monitor to control the computer(s), a small 25 key controller, and I’m looking for motorized midi faders and light up encoders.

Currently I’m looking at something like the key largo or a Kl-8 for the DI
MOTU or iconnectivity for audio and midi configuration
Fishman for power
Any decent touchscreen monitor
Softube console 1 surface controller
Have a mpk pro 25 but looking for something more compact
Need to find light up knobs

Would I need more DI(s) after the interface or would the interface have balanced outputs? If so, should I have 1/4” and 1/4” to XLR cables on hand for the easiest send to front of house?

Do I even need the DI before the interface? Or should I run all hardware outputs through inputs on the interface and mix on the computer?

Am I looking at this all wrong if I want pedals and other effects later? Should be looking into preamps also?

What else am I missing?