I'm new to keyboards

Reaction score
.. So please be nice.

I have a few questions regarding just the basics of keyboards (God, I am such a newbie, lol)

Is there any diference between Midi controllers, and Keyboards? If so, what are they?

If you buy a program that is just essentially a MIDI library of sorts, how do you go about making those effects get to your keyboard?

If that last question didn't make any sence.. I'll try to explain my perdicament: I'm looking for a good program to create REALISTIC sounding string tracks.. I have found two (East West Symphonic, and Sonivox Syphonic String Collection) programs that have peeked my intrest, but I am unsure if they have music-making programs included in them (meaning, I do not believe they have a thing like Finale where I can go in and note for note put in what I want played)... If they do not have this option, how do I make it so it applies itself to the program that I use for my keyboard?

On that token, what is a good program I should be using to edit my work? (I use protools to finish out the recording process.. but say I wanted to EQ the things that I put onto my computer. What is a good program for that?)

What is a decent keyboard (or midi controller?) that has great string and woodwind sounds? I do not care for pianos, or organs.. I have a nice baby-grand and a Hammond Organ I found on the side of the road that work just fine for me... I have about 1000$ Tops to spend

This whole computer/keyboard/synth thing COMPLETELY escapes me.. I still use paper, pen, and a piano to write stuff.. :\

It's just a pain to call up my friend's string quartet and set a date about a month in advanced for them to come out for me to record.. I'd ideally like to be able to put a good sound out with just myself.

Keep in mind, this isn't going to be some crazy nationally released CD by any means.. I just want something that _Doesn't sound Fake._