Keyboard instruction book for experienced guitar player

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm an experienced guitar and bass player with a modest home studio. I'm mainly into metal, but as I love industrial music and basically think metal sounds better with keys, I have just bought myself a Roland Fantom X6.

I was just wondering if anyone could recommend a good instruction book that will give me a crash course on the keyboard. As I'm an experienced musician and can already play a few chords and simple tunes on the keys, I'm basically looking for a book that will give me a recap on the basics and then move on to more advanced stuff at a fairly quick pace. Also a book that can help me navigate the features (sampling, MIDI tracks etc) would be great.

Thanks in advance.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I'd advise searching amazon for books titled "keyboards for guitarists" and read up on the reviews. From what I can see they are mainly focused on chord progressions and composing.

Otherwise I'd recommend any good book on basic music theory and the usual piano method books to get off to a good start.

You will be learning some redundant material but unless you feel like springing for a tutor who specializes in adults you're not really going to find any sort of custom tailored intermediate course in a book off the rack.

As for learning the nitty gritty of the hardware and programming the keys, that comes with blood and sweat and you'll have to surf the roland forums and read as many FAQs and google every scrap of info you can find. Youtube is also a great source of tutorials and demos on using recording software and VSTis and DAWs.

And feel free to experiment. Short of wiping out the firmware it's hard to wipe out a keyboard simply by pushing buttons and there's usually a factory reset setting in case you screw things up too badly :)