Keyboard stand recommendations

Reaction score
Looking for suggestions for a stand. Considerations/questions:
  • Can hold a DGX-205 (specs here) at sitting and standing heights
  • Not looking to spend a boatload
  • Lightweight/portable would be great in case I find my way into a group again (though in near term it's likely to stay put in the house)
  • I'm pretty new to the laptop/MIDI side of things. Any laptop attachments or separate laptop stands you like for a smallish laptop? I've been precariously balancing the laptop on the edge of the keyboard/table, probably not the best strategy...
  • What about music stands? I've always done separate (but don't currently have one) - anything built-in that's worthwhile? I'm currently leaning away from having one giant many-armed stand but could be swayed...
Thank you! These forums got me set up and playing after a long break. :)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
There are multiple threads here on the forums regarding what sorts of stands we prefer and use on a regular basis.

Search the forums on "keyboard stands" and you will find several extremely long and vociferous threads regarding what we think is "good" or "bad."

Personally I avoid X Stands...

Gary ;)

(Now I run away before the holy wars restart...8|)

Reaction score

Reaction score
  • Lightweight/portable would be great in case I find my way into a group again (though in near term it's likely to stay put in the house)
  • I'm pretty new to the laptop/MIDI side of things. Any laptop attachments or separate laptop stands you like for a smallish laptop? I've been precariously balancing the laptop on the edge of the keyboard/table, probably not the best strategy...
  • What about music stands? I've always done separate (but don't currently have one) - anything built-in that's worthwhile? I'm currently leaning away from having one giant many-armed stand but could be swayed...