Need help with choosing electric piano

Reaction score
Hello

I've been looking at buying electric piano. I can't really try any of them. I can only read internet reviews and watch youtube videos.

I've been playing on and off for 15 years. For the last few years I've almost only played using piano sound. And I was always annoyed by bad keys. I've decided now to buy decent piano.

I was thinking about Kawai pianos. Kawai ES-8 B (1600 euros) and much more expensive Kawai MP-11, but it has wooden keys and different mechanism for the keys.

What I was wondering, having never played on actual piano, is there any need to buy more expensive MP-11? How different do wooden keys feel in contrast to plastic keys? I am also little afraid that if I buy ES-8 B that I will not be happy with the keys.I intend to have this piano for a long time.

On the other side, so far I've been playing on crappy keyboards from Casio. I am sure that anything from Kawai will be major improvement.

Are there any suggestions?

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
. I can't really try any of them. I
Why not?
How do you intend to buy one?
Buying Online?
I personally think to spend big bucks on an unknown quantity is dangerous. Call me an old fuddy duddy if you want but you said it yourself . . .
I am also little afraid that if I buy ES-8 B that I will not be happy with the keys.I intend to have this piano for a long time.
So I am not qualified to advise you which model you should choose. Others here who know about Kawai may offer advice. But seriously you are the one who will be playing it and if it was me I would want to get a hands on feel for it. Test drive the woooden keys vs. the plastic keys for yourself. Don't rely on other peoples personal feelings.

are there any suggestions?