Roland RD2000: Remote patch change via MIDI

Reaction score
Hi folks,
I work as a keyboard player for a leisure resort which provides everything we need for the job of backing their fabulous shows, sets for dancing etc. They have recently splashed out on 2 Roland RD2000s (we have 2 complete band setups within the theatre) to replace our ageing RD700s. As most of the show material is played to a click track run from a Mac we have used the opportunity to automate some of the more tiresome tasks eg lighting cues and instrument and effects patches. To achieve this with the RD700 we sent a bank change (controller 32=0, 00=85) and the program change number of the required setup (as it was called then) and the keyboard went to that setup number. All the info I needed was in the user manual.
I am hoping that the same can be achieved with the RD2000 though it's likely to be a little more complicated as the 700's setups (1-100) have been superseded on the 2000 by 15 banks (A-O) of 20 programs. I have downloaded and studied the quick start guide, parameter guide and midi implementation (a language which continues to baffle me after 20 years of trying to understand!) but so far have not been able to discover what is required to change programs.
I also use midi bass pedals on occasion (Roland PK5) which I used with the 700 by changing the tone in the "internal sounds" menu of each setup to a bass sound on channel 16, that being the transmit channel I have set on the pedals. I have not yet found a way on the 2000 to edit any sound that is not controlled by zones s1-s8 which guess correspond to midi channels 1-8.
If anyone out there can shed any light on either or both of these areas I would be truly grateful.
Many thanks, Graham

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score