Roland VR-730 as only board?

Reaction score
Hi all, looking for some feedback on the Roland VR-730. It seems to have all the features one would need for using a single board for performance, but I'd love to hear from some people who play one. I'm still new to keys and would primarily be using this for jamming and composition. I have read complaints about this not being a good midi controller, so I'm curious to hear about that since I would like a board with a variety of sounds that would also be a good midi controller for a DAW. I will likely be using a pretty equal mix of piano, EP, organ, and synth sounds.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
If I were you, I'd take a peek at the MIDI specs in the user manual online.

Any surprises about implementation should be noted by footnotes or warnings.

Reaction score
Cannot speak for the midi, but I can't imagine Roland doing it wrong
If I were you, I'd take a peek at the MIDI specs in the user manual online.

Any surprises about implementation should be noted by footnotes or warnings.
No footnotes or warnings to speak of. Short of the standard implementation charts with the X and O indicators, manuals rarely do a good job at telling you what a board doesn't do (or what it does poorly). While you can pretty safely assume that it does not do anything the manual doesn't tell you it can do, it can take some MIDI knowledge and sometimes "reading between the lines" to figure out where the omissions are.

Some notable MIDI shortcomings in this case are that, while you can store 100 user registrations, you cannot select them via MIDI; and that the nine sliders do not send MIDI CC, but rather only send sysex commands, which complicates its usability as a controller.