Suggestions for a MIDI controller for college dorm practice?

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This next year I will be moving off to another school, and staying on campus in a dorm room. Probably a double/2-person one. I’m going to be over six hours away from my gear and it’s not possible to bring stuff with obviously, as space is at a premium. I will be at this college full time, but also am not majoring in music, so practice room access will be an issue. I don’t want to lose the muscle memory of 15 years of playing and besides, music is a huge part of me and I sort of “think” in music if you know what I mean. It’s also good stress reduction.

So, I’m looking at midi controllers. Due to space issues, I think the largest I can fit would be a 61-key model; I need no less than 49 keys however as I am not really an Edm or hip hop person, I’m an actual pianist/keyboardist/organist and that’s the bare minimum I can play much on. I can buy Mainstage for $30 (since I’ll no doubt need a laptop anyways) or use the iPad in a pinch, so I don’t need built-in sounds. I’m needing this to be pretty compact, so I can accept pitch bend and mod wheels up above the keys instead of next to the keybed on the left (my preferred setup for gigging). I also want this to be something that will be useful after college, not just a toy. Semi-weighted or synth action is just fine by me; only one board I have is hammer action which I use for piano etc but that’s not possible here.

Software aside, I would like to have the following features:

- decent keybed (aftertouch would be nice - again with the usefulness later aspect)
- pitch and mod controls (wheels are preferable)
- eight or nine faders (nine is preferable for drawbars)
- some assignable knobs
- sustain and expression pedal inputs
- pads for patch changes and drums
- 5-pin and USB midi both