Live Music Software Setup Suggestions

Reaction score
I am very new to the soft-synth world and my goal is to have my laptop and 3 controllers on my stand for live gigs. In my perfect world, I would have a different sound/patch/sample/loop/etc. on each controller, all being housed on the 1 laptop. Would that just be 3 different software platforms and a separate midi channel for each? Or would I need a host program that manages everything between the 3 controllers and my sounds? Is there a setup where I could type in/select the name of the song and the 3 sounds are automatically set for that song? Any help is greatly appreciated! Cheers!

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I would go with a single host running your various plug-ins, because I'd think that would simplify any possible timing (MIDI clock) issues. Some soft synths or VI collections may have their own host program, and you might not be able to use those as plug-ins from another host. So it might help to know which specific soft synths and VIs you want to use, although I think most of them can be used as plug-ins.

My favorite DAW for plug-in hosting is Acoustica Mixcraft. I'm not saying it's the best DAW there is, and it might not be as full-featured as some of the more expensive DAWs. Also, Mixcraft is for Windows only, so you won't be able to use it on a macOS or Linux laptop. But some of the reasons I like Mixcraft are as follows:

(1) The 64-bit version of Acoustica Mixcraft can use either 32-bit or 64-bit plug-ins without needing a special bridge program. Or I suppose it does need to use a bridge, but the point is that any such bridge is built into the program. It has become common for other 64-bit DAWs to run only 64-bit plug-ins, and to require you to manually install some bridge program if you want to use 32-bit plug-ins with them. With Mixcraft you don't have that hassle, and no need to worry about whether your favorite plug-in is 32-bit or 64-bit.