Toggle midi send on and off

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

First to introduce myself,
I am a musician starting to get a little more serious with midi and VST etc.

I have a question about my desired setup, having just bought a Novation Impulse controller.
I would like to be able to assign some faders and buttons to control a Yamaha MO8 through MIDI and some other faders to Mainstage.

The idea is to assign the fader and the corresponding button to a specific MIDI send channel and have the MO8 in song mode so I can realize what I want.
But I want the button to 'mute' the specific channel send. So the button must toggle the midi send on and off for that specific channel.

What is the MIDI CC command to do that if it's even possible? Just turning the volume down on that channel would have the same effect, but that will effect the polyphony of my MO8 and the CPU load in Mainstage. For Mainstage I use the button to turn off the instrument in the channel strip, but for the MO8 I need a specific MIDI command I would think.
Anybody here that can help me?

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I've never heard of a generic MIDI command for toggling a given channel on and off.

Am I correct that you're wanting to transmit the song channels to the MO8, and want to toggle the transmission of the channels on or off in Mainstage, such that the channel in question is either transmitted or not transmitted to the MO8?

If that's the case, I should think that you don't need to do anything on the MO8 side.

Reaction score
The Mainstage part is seperate from the MO8 part.
So my question is only about the connection between the midi keyboard and the MO8.

The MO8 is in song mode, so there are 16 (midi)channels each one with it's own midi receive channel and each one with a corresponding voice/sound.
For example: channel 1 on the MO8 has a piano, channel 2 has an organ.