Umm, hi... Keyboard newbie here...

Reaction score
Hi everyone... I'm from the UK, and wish to take up the keyboard as an instrument. I'm 22, and have a somewhat large amount of disposable income, and plenty of spare time. Most of my music taste is heavily influenced by the use of keyboards (I always seem to like bands which use a keyboard), and I love how a keyboard sounds...

Reaction score
Hello there ! Welcome to the world :)

Playing keyboard/piano is a wonderful feeling. Make sure you put your heart & soul into it. It takes time and effort to master it, learning is a lifetime process. So, stick to it and you'll fall more in love with it ! And hey... dont forgetbto enjoy thisn journey :)

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I always liked bands with keyboards, too. Nowadays just about everyone has synths, but when I was young there were a lot of bands that had just drums, bass, guitars, and vocals. Sometimes I would buy an album from a band I'd never heard, simply because the back of the cover listed a keyboardist! :)

If you have a lot of money, you'll probably want to buy a good arranger or workstation keyboard-- although it might be a better idea to start with an inexpensive MIDI keyboard controller and a free or inexpensive DAW with a good assortment of VST instruments, so you can get your feet wet without investing too much money. It's a lot different today than when I was young, because there are some very good free soft synths, so you don't need to spend several thousands of dollars just to experiment with a synth to see if it's for you. And if you're more interested in playing a piano, electric piano, or organ than a synth, there are programs (or "patches") for pianos, organs, guitars, basses, violins, flutes, choirs, etc.

Then if, after testing the waters with a MIDI keyboard controller and VST instruments, you decide you definitely want to pursue keyboards more seriously, you can buy a really nice arranger or workstation keyboard.