What would you advise?

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm sure that every keyboard magician here has seen a request like this before, but please bear with me as I am a complete beginner.

I play the classical guitar and can read music a bit and now I'd like to set up a home studio based around my PC. This would be used for composing and also for playing music from midi files, that I can play along with. Over the last week I've looked into this and become totally confused by all the terminology. Can anyone advise me on the following:

What keyboard should I buy? This is to connect to the computer and also to learn to play on.

What software will I need?

Do I need to change my computer sound card, or buy some kind of sound module?

As far as cost is concerned, I'm prepared to spend on quality kit, new or used, that will last me a while. Ideally, good value for money, rather than the most expensive gear.

Thanks,

Paul.

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum, Paul!

Except for the guitar part (I don't play), I'm just ahead of you on this fun-filled trip. But hopefully some of what I've been discovering will be of help to you. (Experts, please correct my mistakes.)

What keyboard should I buy? This is to connect to the computer and also to learn to play on.
Only you can answer this question. Asking yourself a few questions will help point the way:

What kind of music do you want to play?

What kinds of instruments do you want reproduced most accurately?

Do you want the feel of a piano under your fingers?

How many different voices/instruments/sounds (i.e., piano, flutes, drums) do you want/need to be able to play at the same time. This is called multitimbrality. 16 appears to be the most common multimbrality by far.

How many different notes/tones do you want/need to be able to play at the same time? This is called polyphony. A quality keyboard will have a polyphony of 32 at the bare minimum.