Yamaha M08 vs Roland Fantom X8

Reaction score
First, thanks for all the responses to my previous post.

Short recap. I've been playing guitar for about three years and I want to learn how to play keyboard/piano. I want to get something that will both achieve what I'm looking for and last me a long time, since I've gone through some pretty junky guitars until I was fully satisfied and I don't want to make the same mistake with keyboards.

I’ve been researching keyboards non-stop for the last few days. I was looking for something that would be efficiently suitable for progressive rock and metal (Opeth, DT, Abigail Williams, Porcupine Tree, etc.), but also classical music. I wasn’t planning on spending more than 1000 dollars, but I’ve found [FONT=&quot][/FONT]that there is no way I’m going to get all I want with that limit. Slightly over my original price limit, I was considering getting the Kawai MP5, because while it is a very good stage piano, it also offers various other instruments and some real time controls (that were absent from some cheaper Yamaha digital pianos I tried). However, upon further consideration, I decided that the MP5 is not for me, because if I’m going to spend that much money, I might as well be sure I’m getting all I want; after all, the MP5 is a stage piano, not a workstation. So, I’ve decided that if I’m going to make a purchase, I might as well just go the extra mile and get a keyboard that offers me all of what I want and will not need to be replaced as I progress. The Yamaha MM8, at 1000 dollars, might have been a good option, but I read a lot of negative reviews, and it doesn't seem worth the price. Thus, it comes down to the Yamaha M08 and the Roland Fantom X8.