Yamaha YPT-220 - no sound from speakers or headphones

Reaction score
My Yamaha YPT-220 has not been used for a number of years. A few days ago I turned it on, only to find that while the buttons and display work, there is no sound from the speakers. Headphones do not work either. There is nothing plugged into the headphone jack.

Some research suggested that the amplifier chip (BA5417) might have gone bad, so I replaced it, but the sound still does not work.

Inspection of the headphone jack shows some mild corrosion on the inside - I thought this might be the culprit, so I removed the jack altogether, but there was still no sound. I have no idea how the mechanism by which the keyboard 'detects' that headphones are plugged in works though, so I don't know if this rules out the headphone jack being the problem.

Is this a common problem? I have very little experience with keyboards, this is the only one I have ever owned and I'm by no means a musician! Any ideas on what could be causing this?

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I was going to ask if you'd done a "factory reset" yet, but apparently there's no need to do that because all of the panel settings and function settings get cleared whenever you turn off the keyboard.

The two most common "software" causes of this problem are (1) that the "M.Volume" function got set to 000-- in which case the styles and songs should still play, unless the "StyleVol" and "SongVol" functions are also set to 000-- or (2) that the "Local" function got set to OFF. You can check those function settings to make sure they aren't the problem, but they should be getting reset to their default values whenever you turn the keyboard off and on, so I doubt that they're the problem.

I don't know much of anything about the hardware side of things, but aside from the PHONES/OUTPUT jack you might check the MASTER VOLUME to make sure there's no problem there, such as perhaps a loose or broken wire.